Phonologicaltherapy meets Twitter

This chat occurred Feb 3/4 2013 and is now archived here.

__________________________________________________________________________________

ff2Caroline Bowen PhD CPSP, whose Speech-Language Therapy dot com website is well known to #SLPeeps worldwide, also runs the eight thousand strong discussion group called phonologicaltherapy. The emphasis in both of these online resources is EBP in children’s speech sound disorders: articulation disorders, phonological disorders, and childhood apraxia of speech. A relative newcomer to Twitter, Caroline signed on as @speech_woman (met Speechwoman yet?) in February 2012 when she was writing about Life Online for her Webwords column in @SpeechPathAust‘s Journal of Clinical Practice in Speech-Language Pathology. One year on, she bravely steps up to the plate to take part in our first #SLPchat for 2013, “phonologicaltherapy meets Twitter”.

cb1We think this is perfect symmetry, since our first ever #slpchat, in December 2010, was on Cycles for phonology and we’ve just passed our two year anniversary (how time flies!). We’re thrilled that Caroline has agreed to join us. We’ll also be merging the North American and Australian chats into one chat only on Sunday, February 3rd, at 6 pm EST (New York/Toronto) which is also Monday, February 4th, at 10 am AEST (Sydney). We hope you’ll join us for the chat. Here is what you can expect:


Question 1: What are your top 5 resources for child speech assessment and intervention?

What inspires your intervention sessions? Share the ‘must have’ and ‘must read’ SSD materials, equipment, sources and resources that you use or refer to all the time. These might include particular journal articles, books, manuals, games and activities, reinforcers and rewards, professional listservs, discussion groups and other social media, websites and more.

Question 2: Articulation Disorders: How do you assess articulation disorders, and which treatment approach, or approaches do you use? 
What is your assessment tool of choice? Do you implement traditional articulation therapy, a variation of it, or some other approach?

Question 3: Phonological Disorder: How do you assess phonological disorder, and which treatment approach, or approaches do you use?
What is your assessment tool of choice? In intervention, do you use any, some or all of the following, Core Vocabulary TherapyCycles Therapy (Patterns Intervention)Imagery TherapyMetaphonMinimal Pair TherapiesParents and Children Together (PACT), or Phoneme Awareness Therapy or some other approach? Are you an eclectic practitioner who uses a mix-n-match approach – do tell!

Question 4: Target Selection: In the process of Target Selection for Phonological Intervention which of the available approaches do you employ?
How do you decide what to work on first…second…third…? Are you a fan of traditional or newer selection criteria, do you combine them, and have you implemented a complexity approach to choosing therapy targets? How was it for you?

READINGS
Explore the links above as preparation for this chat. Take the time to discover leads to interesting and useful journal articles.

REFERENCE
Bowen C. (2012). Webwords 44: Life online. Journal of Clinical Practice in Speech-Language Pathology14(3), 149-152.

Advertisements

3 Comments

Filed under phonology

3 responses to “Phonologicaltherapy meets Twitter

  1. I am looking forward to this chat so much! Here are a few times for guidance:
    Honolulu 01:00pm HST Sunday 3 Feb
    Vancouver, Los Angeles 03:00pm PST Sunday 3 Feb
    Phoenix 04:00pm MST Sunday 3 Feb
    Toronto, New York 06:00pm EST Sunday 3 Feb
    London, Dublin, Edinburgh, Cardiff 11:00pm GMT Sunday 3 Feb
    Johannesburg 01:00am SAST Monday 4 Feb
    Mumbai 04:30am IST Monday 4 Feb
    Perth, Kuala Lumpur, Singapore, Hong Kong 07:00am Monday 4 Feb
    Brisbane 09:00am EST Monday 4 Feb
    Adelaide 09:30am CST Monday 4 Feb
    Sydney, Melbourne, Hobart 10:00am AEDST Monday 4 Feb
    Auckland 12:00 noon NZDT Monday 4 Feb

  2. What’s up to all, how is all, I think every one is getting more from this web page, and your views are pleasant in support of new viewers.

  3. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that
    over again. Anyways, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s